Connect with Texas A&M. Get info and explore campus online!

 

ADVISE TX

All across Texas, a growing number of high school students lack adequate access to information about going to college. Many of them don't believe they can succeed in college or have never considered college a possibility. Without exposure, information, and encouragement, many students never pursue college at all.

Advise TX is bridging this gap. We place exceptional recent college graduates from all fields of study on high school campuses as near-peer college advisers to lead low-income and first-generation students to college.
 

Advise TX on Instagram   Advise TX Facebook page   Advise TX Twitter

College Advising Corps (CAC) could well be likened to the "Teach for America" of college advising. In Texas, five partner institutions recruit highly talented recent graduates, provide them with six weeks of intensive training, and provide supervision and professional development for college advisers throughout the year.

Advisers are then placed in Texas high schools with a high proportion of historically underserved—students. These highly trained, near-peer advisers work full time and have the singular mission of building a college-going culture and helping high school students find the best fit college for their career aspirations and academic preparation. This includes assistance with ACT, SAT and college application fee waivers, college exploration, college application, FAFSA completion and submission, and--when college acceptance letters arrive—helping students understand the different financial aid packages they are offered.

CAC and Advise TX
CAC program was founded in 2006 and now has 23 partner institutions in over 14 states. Texas launched with a pilot of 15 advisers in 2010 and scaled the next year to 120. In 2011-2012 Texas Advisers served in 120 schools, in 60 Districts, serving 228,979 students, including 49,308 seniors. Of these, 18% were African American, 72% Hispanic, 8% White, and 2% Other ethnicity. Currently, Advisers are serving in 125 schools with a combined total student population of over 234,000.

"Best Fit" Advising
Advisers are not recruiters for their alma mater and employer. Their mission is to help high school students enroll in the post-secondary option that is the best fit—where they will be most likely to succeed and persist to degree or meaningful credential—be it a four-year university, two-year college, or technical school.

During their training, advisers learn about colleges and universities across the state, as well as certificate programs and associates degrees available in the geographic regions where they will serve. They visit community colleges in their area soon after assignment to their school. Advisers encourage students to apply to three or more institutions so they still have multiple options if their first choice does not accept them or offers a financial assistance package that is insufficient to make that institution a viable option.


College Advisers

Dallas/Forth Worth 

Aaron-Lemons-(4).jpg
Aaron Lemons
South Grand Prairie High School
alemons@exchange.tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Juan Trevino
Duncanville High School
jdtrevino@tamu.edu

Jacob-Ramirez-(1).jpg
Jacob Ramirez
South Garland High School
j_ramirez@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Danielle Burget
Duncanville High School
dburget@tamu.edu

Araceli-Martinez-(1).jpg
Araceli Martinez
Grand Prairie High School
amartinez20@tamu.edu

Alexandra-Nolan-(1).jpg
Alex Nolan
Dubiski High School
anolan@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Nicole Ciolino
North Garland High School
nciolino@tamu.edu

Esmeralda-Cruz-(1).jpg
Esmeralda Cruz
North Mesquite High School
e.cruz@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Gilberto Gonzalez
Horn High School
G_Gonzalez@tamu.edu

Viviana-Gloria-(1).jpg
Viviana Gloria
Mesquite High School
vgloria@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Lucero Ramirez
West Mesquite High School
aramirez20@tamu.edu

Sarah-Bailey-(2).jpg

Sarah Bailey
Poteet High School
s.bailey@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon

George Ibarra
Richardson High School
J_ibarra@tamu.edu

 


Houston

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Jelicia Hunt
MacArthur High School
jelicia_hunt@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Katherine Arnett
Nimitz High School
Karnett@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Linda Zuniga
Benjamin Davis High School
lzuniga@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Vacant
Alief Taylor High School
 

Ariana-Martinez-(2).jpg
Ariana Martinez
Alief Elsik High School
a.martinez@tamu.edu

Sherice-Perkins-(1).jpg
Sherice Perkins
Alief Hastings High School
s.perkins@tamu.edu

Gloria-Barreiro-(1).jpg
Gloria Barreiro
Cleveland High School
gbarreiro@tamu.edu

Judy-Torres-(1).jpg
Judy Torres
KIPP Generations High School
j.torres@tamu.edu

Adriana-Garcia-(1).jpg
Adriana Garcia
KIPP Northeast High School
aegarcia@tamu.edu

Kenneth-Grant-(1).jpg.aspx
Kenneth Grant
KIPP Sunnyside High School
kgrantjr@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Edwin Cortez
Klein Forest High School
ecortez@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Karan Hooda
Cypress Springs High School
khooda@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Edgar Encinia
Eisenhower High School
eencinia@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Stephanie Gonzalez
Blanson CTE High School
sngonzalez@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Juan Daniel Alarid
Katy High School
jdalarid@tamu.edu

Darric-Ward-(1).jpg
Darric Ward
Morton Ranch High School
dward@tamu.edu

Ethan-Aulds-(1).jpg
Ethan Aulds
Mayde Creek High School
eaulds@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Kennedy Washington
BF Terry High School
k.washington@tamu.edu

Edgar-Garcia-(1).jpg
Edgar Garcia
Pasadena High School
edgargarcia.r1@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Angelica Benavides
Pasadena Memorial High School
abenavides@tamu.edu

Cindy-Martinez-(1).jpg
Cindy Martinez
South Houston High School
c.martinez13@tamu.edu

Alejandra-Lopez-Camero-(1).jpg
Alejandra Lopez Camero
Sam Rayburn High School
a.lopezcamero@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Vacant
C.E. King High School
 

Ashley-Sosa-(1).jpg

Ashley Sosa
Aldine High School
adsosa@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon

Abbey Vreeland
Lamar Consol. High Schoolavreeland@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon

Gabriella Fuentes
C.E. King High School
gfuentes@tamu.edu


Rio Grande Valley

Irving-Hernandez.jpg
Irving Hernandez
Hanna High School
ihernandez@tamu.edu

David-Barrera-(1).jpg
David Daniel Barrera
Pace High School
dbarrera5@tamu.edu

Ana-Rodriguez-(1).jpg
Ana Rodriguez
Rivera High School
am_rodriguez@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Valeria Quintanilla
Porter High School
vquintanilla@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Emily Vega
Lopez High School
evega@tamu.edu

Shanti-Israni-(1).jpg
Shanti Israni
Veterans High School
sisrani@tamu.edu

Kelsey-Sullivan-(1).jpg
Kelsey Sullivan
Harlingen High School South
klsullivan@tamu.edu

Kassandra-Lopez-(1).jpg
Kassandra Lopez

Hidalgo High School
kllopez@tamu.edu


San Antonio 

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Gabriela Gomez
Memorial High School
g.gomez19@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon

Vacant
Kennedy High School
 

Gissella-Quezada-(1).jpg

Gissella Quezada
Somerset High School
gquezada@tamu.edu

 
 

Bryan/College Station

Victoria-Margo-(1).jpg
Victoria Margo
Bryan High School
vnmargo@exchange.tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Spencer Pepper
Rudder High School
spencerpepper@tamu.edu

Rebekah-James-(1).jpg
Rebekah James
Rudder High School
rjames@tamu.edu

Placeholder Profile Image Icon
Shawna Parks 
Navasota High School
s.parks@tamu.edu


applytexas.org
ApplyTexas was created through a collaborative effort between the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and the colleges and universities represented on the site. The goal of the project is to offer a centralized means for both Texas and non-Texas students to apply to the many outstanding postsecondary institutions available in Texas.

fafsa.ed.gov
Completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) is the first step toward getting federal aid for college, career school, or graduate school.

sat.collegeboard.org
The SAT and SAT Subject Tests are a suite of tools designed to assess your academic readiness for college. These exams provide a path to opportunities, financial support and scholarships, in a way that's fair to all students. The SAT and SAT Subject Tests keep pace with what colleges are looking for today, measuring the skills required for success in the 21st century.

actstudent.org
The ACT is not an aptitude or an IQ test. The test questions on the ACT are directly related to what you have learned in your high school courses in English, mathematics, reading, and science. Every day you attend class you are preparing for the ACT. The harder you work in school, the more prepared you will be for the test. By taking the ACT, you make yourself visible to colleges and scholarship agencies, so it's another way to help you get ready for life after high school.


Contact Us

Are you interested in learning more about Advise TX? Would you like to become an Advise TX adviser? Do you want to support Advise TX by providing a donation to the program? If you answered yes to any of the questions above, submit the form and an Advise TX representative will contact you soon.

Enter security code:
 Security code

AdviseTX Year in Review

Americorps and Project 88 logos