ADVISE TX

All across Texas, a growing number of high school students lack adequate access to information about going to college. Many of them don't believe they can succeed in college or have never considered college a possibility. Without exposure, information, and encouragement, many students never pursue college at all.

Advise TX is bridging this gap. We place exceptional recent college graduates from all fields of study on high school campuses as near-peer college advisers to lead low-income and first-generation students to college.
 

Advise TX on Instagram   Advise TX Facebook page   Advise TX Twitter

AdviseTX Advising Corps Video

College Advising Corps (CAC) could well be likened to the "Teach for America" of college advising. In Texas, five partner institutions recruit highly talented recent graduates, provide them with six weeks of intensive training, and provide supervision and professional development for college advisers throughout the year.

Advisers are then placed in Texas high schools with a high proportion of historically underserved—students. These highly trained, near-peer advisers work full time and have the singular mission of building a college-going culture and helping high school students find the best fit college for their career aspirations and academic preparation. This includes assistance with ACT, SAT and college application fee waivers, college exploration, college application, FAFSA completion and submission, and--when college acceptance letters arrive—helping students understand the different financial aid packages they are offered.

CAC and Advise TX
CAC program was founded in 2006 and now has 23 partner institutions in over 14 states. Texas launched with a pilot of 15 advisers in 2010 and scaled the next year to 120. In 2011-2012 Texas Advisers served in 120 schools, in 60 Districts, serving 228,979 students, including 49,308 seniors. Of these, 18% were African American, 72% Hispanic, 8% White, and 2% Other ethnicity. Currently, Advisers are serving in 125 schools with a combined total student population of over 234,000.

"Best Fit" Advising
Advisers are not recruiters for their alma mater and employer. Their mission is to help high school students enroll in the post-secondary option that is the best fit—where they will be most likely to succeed and persist to degree or meaningful credential—be it a four-year university, two-year college, or technical school.

During their training, advisers learn about colleges and universities across the state, as well as certificate programs and associates degrees available in the geographic regions where they will serve. They visit community colleges in their area soon after assignment to their school. Advisers encourage students to apply to three or more institutions so they still have multiple options if their first choice does not accept them or offers a financial assistance package that is insufficient to make that institution a viable option.


Dallas/Forth Worth 

Aaron Lemons
Duncanville High School
alemons@exchange.tamu.edu

Lisley Canales
North Mesquite High School
lcanales@tamu.edu

Jordan Kuneyl
Duncanville High School
jkuneyl@tamu.edu

Heather Lacey
Horn High School
hlacey@tamu.edu

Domingo Monjaras-Salazar
South Garland High School
dmonjaras@exchange.tamu.edu

Edgar Gonzalez
Mesquite High School
egonzalez@tamu.edu

Joanna Palacios
Grand Prairie High School
jpalacios@tamu.edu

Samantha Ynclan
West Mesquite High School
synclan@tamu.edu

Amanda Coronado
Dubiski High School
amcoronado@tamu.edu

Jobrina Perez
Richardson High School
jperez@tamu.edu

Ana Gonzalez
South Grand Prairie High School
atgonzalez@tamu.edu

 
 

Houston

Chesley Rudasill
Aldine High School
crudasill@tamu.edu 

Christopher Henson
Cypress Springs High School
chenson@tamu.edu

Kitzia Soto
Eisenhower High School
kitziasoto@exchange.tamu.edu

Rodrick Hawkins
Sterling High School
rhawkins@tamu.edu

Kritzia Soto
MacArthur High School
ksoto@tamu.edu

Lauren Anderson
Westbury High School
landerson@tamu.edu

Gabrielle Harrison
Nimitz High School
gcharrison@tamu.edu

Jillian Mueller
Waltrip High School
j.mueller@tamu.edu

Keviontae Martin
Benjamin Davis High School
kjmartin@tamu.edu

Thomas Langford
Morton Ranch High School
tlangford@tamu.edu

Stephanie Escobar
Alief Taylor High School
sescobar@tamu.edu

Zachary Lawrence
Mayde Creek High School
zlawrence@tamu.edu

Kenneth Grant
Alief Elsik High School
kgrantjr@tamu.edu

Kinsey Blackburn
BF Terry High School
kblackburn@tamu.edu

Kelly Robles
Alief Hastings High School
krobles@tamu.edu

Brenda Vazquez
Pasadena High School
bvazquez@tamu.edu

Rosemary Miller
KIPP Generations High School
r_miller@tamu.edu

Valerie Baez
Pasadena Memorial High School
vbaez@tamu.edu

DanThi Vo
KIPP Northeast High School
dvo@tamu.edu

Stephanie Hinojosa
South Houston High School
shinojosa@tamu.edu

Daniela Becerra
KIPP Sunnyside High School
dbecerra@tamu.edu

Mariana Garcia
Sam Rayburn High School
m.garcia@tamu.edu

Kalena Thwaits
Klein Forest High School
kthwaits@tamu.edu

 
 































































Rio Grande Valley

Weston Simmons
Hanna High School
wsimmons@tamu.edu

Marco Mejia
Veterans High School
mmejia@tamu.edu

Kelsey Sullivan
Pace High School
klsullivan@tamu.edu

Alexis Pemelton
Harlingen High School South
a.pemelton@tamu.edu

Iraida Garcia
Rivera High School
igarcia@tamu.edu

Natalie Hernandez
Memorial High School
n.hernandez@tamu.edu

Pamela Moncayo
Porter High School
pmoncayo@tamu.edu

Darlissa Villanueva
Kennedy High School
dvillanueva@tamu.edu

Viviana Gloria Novas
Lopez High School
vgloria@tamu.edu

Marissa Gomez-Garza
Somerset High School
m.garza@tamu.edu

 



Bryan/College Station

Gianna Gibson
Bryan  High School
g_gibson@tamu.edu

Sam Havens
Brenham High School
s.havens@tamu.edu

Hannah Karnes
Rudder High School
hkarnes@tamu.edu

Chon Brooks
Navasota High School
cubrooks@tamu.edu

 

applytexas.org
ApplyTexas was created through a collaborative effort between the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and the colleges and universities represented on the site. The goal of the project is to offer a centralized means for both Texas and non-Texas students to apply to the many outstanding postsecondary institutions available in Texas.

fafsa.ed.gov
Completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) is the first step toward getting federal aid for college, career school, or graduate school.

sat.collegeboard.org
The SAT and SAT Subject Tests are a suite of tools designed to assess your academic readiness for college. These exams provide a path to opportunities, financial support and scholarships, in a way that's fair to all students. The SAT and SAT Subject Tests keep pace with what colleges are looking for today, measuring the skills required for success in the 21st century.

actstudent.org
The ACT is not an aptitude or an IQ test. The test questions on the ACT are directly related to what you have learned in your high school courses in English, mathematics, reading, and science. Every day you attend class you are preparing for the ACT. The harder you work in school, the more prepared you will be for the test. By taking the ACT, you make yourself visible to colleges and scholarship agencies, so it's another way to help you get ready for life after high school.


Contact Us

Are you interested in learning more about Advise TX? Would you like to become an Advise TX adviser? Do you want to support Advise TX by providing a donation to the program? If you answered yes to any of the questions above, submit the form and an Advise TX representative will contact you soon.

Enter security code:
 Security code


AdviseTX Year in Review

Americorps and Project 88 logos

 

 

We advise because...