ADVISE TX

All across Texas, a growing number of high school students lack adequate access to information about going to college. Many of them don't believe they can succeed in college or have never considered college a possibility. Without exposure, information, and encouragement, many students never pursue college at all.

Advise TX is bridging this gap. We place exceptional recent college graduates from all fields of study on high school campuses as near-peer college advisers to lead low-income and first-generation students to college.
 

Advise TX on Instagram   Advise TX Facebook page   Advise TX Twitter

AdviseTX Advising Corps Video

College Advising Corps (CAC) could well be likened to the "Teach for America" of college advising. In Texas, five partner institutions recruit highly talented recent graduates, provide them with six weeks of intensive training, and provide supervision and professional development for college advisers throughout the year.

Advisers are then placed in Texas high schools with a high proportion of historically underserved—students. These highly trained, near-peer advisers work full time and have the singular mission of building a college-going culture and helping high school students find the best fit college for their career aspirations and academic preparation. This includes assistance with ACT, SAT and college application fee waivers, college exploration, college application, FAFSA completion and submission, and--when college acceptance letters arrive—helping students understand the different financial aid packages they are offered.

CAC and Advise TX
CAC program was founded in 2006 and now has 23 partner institutions in over 14 states. Texas launched with a pilot of 15 advisers in 2010 and scaled the next year to 120. In 2011-2012 Texas Advisers served in 120 schools, in 60 Districts, serving 228,979 students, including 49,308 seniors. Of these, 18% were African American, 72% Hispanic, 8% White, and 2% Other ethnicity. Currently, Advisers are serving in 125 schools with a combined total student population of over 234,000.

"Best Fit" Advising
Advisers are not recruiters for their alma mater and employer. Their mission is to help high school students enroll in the post-secondary option that is the best fit—where they will be most likely to succeed and persist to degree or meaningful credential—be it a four-year university, two-year college, or technical school.

During their training, advisers learn about colleges and universities across the state, as well as certificate programs and associates degrees available in the geographic regions where they will serve. They visit community colleges in their area soon after assignment to their school. Advisers encourage students to apply to three or more institutions so they still have multiple options if their first choice does not accept them or offers a financial assistance package that is insufficient to make that institution a viable option.


Dallas/Forth Worth 

Aaron-Lemons-(4).jpg
Aaron Lemons
Duncanville High School
alemons@exchange.tamu.edu

Kinsey-Blackburn-(1).jpg
Kinsey Blackburn
Duncanville High School
kblackburn@tamu.edu

Jacob-Ramirez-(1).jpg
Jacob Ramirez
South Garland High School
j_ramirez@tamu.edu

Lydee-Barnes-(1).jpg
Lydee Barnes
North Garland High School
l.barnes@tamu.edu

Araceli-Martinez-(1).jpg
Araceli Martinez
Grand Prairie High School
amartinez20@tamu.edu

Alexandra-Nolan-(1).jpg
Alex Nolan
Dubiski High School
anolan@tamu.edu

Kate-Cantu-(1).jpg
Kate Cantu
South Grand Prairie High School
rkcantu@tamu.edu

Esmeralda-Cruz-(1).jpg
Esmeralda Cruz
North Mesquite High School
e.cruz@tamu.edu

Heather-Lacey-(1).jpg
Heather Lacey
Horn High School
hlacey@tamu.edu

Viviana-Gloria-(1).jpg
Viviana Gloria
Mesquite High School
vgloria@tamu.edu


Houston

Katia-Bouza-(1).jpg
Katia Bouza
MacArthur High School
kbouza@tamu.edu

Gabrielle-Harrison-(1).jpg
Gabrielle Harrison
Nimitz High School
gcharrison@tamu.edu

Gianna-Gibson-(1).jpg
Gianna Gibson
Benjamin Davis High School
g_gibson@tamu.edu

Kennedy-Washington-(1).jpg
Kennedy Washington
Alief Taylor High School
k.washington@tamu.edu

Ariana-Martinez-(2).jpg
Ariana Martinez
Alief Elsik High School
a.martinez@tamu.edu

Sherice-Perkins-(1).jpg
Sherice Perkins
Alief Hastings High School
s.perkins@tamu.edu

Gloria-Barreiro-(1).jpg
Gloria Barreiro
Cleveland High School
gbarreiro@tamu.edu

Judy-Torres-(1).jpg
Judy Torres
KIPP Generations High School
j.torres@tamu.edu

Adriana-Garcia-(1).jpg
Adriana Garcia
KIPP Northeast High School
aegarcia@tamu.edu

Gabriela-Gomez-(1).jpg
Gabriela Gomez
KIPP Sunnyside High School
g.gomez19@tamu.edu

Kalena-Thwaits-(1).jpg
Kalena Thwaits
Klein Forest High School
kthwaits@tamu.edu

Hayley-McKnight-(1).jpg
Hayley McKnight
Cypress Springs High School
hmcknight@tamu.edu

Alaina Haley
Sterling High School
ahaley@tamu.edu

Kenneth-Grant-(1).jpg
Kenneth Grant
Westbury High School
kgrantjr@tamu.edu

Madison-Tritico-(1).jpg
Madison Tritico
Waltrip High School
mtritico@tamu.edu

Darric-Ward-(1).jpg
Darric Ward
Morton Ranch High School
dward@tamu.edu

Ethan-Aulds-(1).jpg
Ethan Aulds
Mayde Creek High School
eaulds@tamu.edu

Spencer-Pepper-(1).jpg
Spencer Pepper
BF Terry High School
spencerpepper@tamu.edu

Edgar-Garcia-(1).jpg
Edgar Garcia
Pasadena High School
edgargarcia.r1@tamu.edu

Eunice-Lim-(1).jpg
Eunice Lim
Pasadena Memorial High School
ejlim@tamu.edu

Cindy-Martinez-(1).jpg
Cindy Martinez
South Houston High School
c.martinez13@tamu.edu

Alejandra-Lopez-Camero-(1).jpg
Alejandra Lopez Camero
Sam Rayburn High School
a.lopezcamero@tamu.edu

Larreisha-McCorr-(1).jpg
Larreishia McCorr
C.E. King High School
lmccorr@tamu.edu

 


Rio Grande Valley

Irving Hernandez
Hanna High School
ihernandez@tamu.edu

David-Barrera-(1).jpg
David Daniel Barrera
Pace High School
dbarrera5@tamu.edu

Ana-Rodriguez-(1).jpg
Ana Rodriguez
Rivera High School
am_rodriguez@tamu.edu

Porter High School

Position Vacant

Lopez High School

Position Vacant

Shanti-Israni-(1).jpg
Shanti Israni
Veterans High School
sisrani@tamu.edu

Kelsey-Sullivan-(1).jpg
Kelsey Sullivan
Harlingen High School South
klsullivan@tamu.edu

Kassandra-Lopez-(1).jpg
Kassandra Lopez

Hidalgo High School
kllopez@tamu.edu


San Antonio 

Matthew-Hernandez-(1).jpg
Matthew Hernandez
Memorial High School
m.hernandez@tamu.edu

Brianna-Moreno-(1).jpg

Brianna Moreno
Kennedy High School
bjmoreno@tamu.edu

Gissella-Quezada-(1).jpg

Gissella Quezada
Somerset High School
gquezada@tamu.edu

 
 

Bryan/College Station

Victoria-Margo-(1).jpg
Victoria Margo
Bryan High School
vnmargo@exchange.tamu.edu

Rosemary-Miller-(1).jpg
Rosemary Miller
Rudder High School
r_miller@tamu.edu

Rebekah-James-(1).jpg
Rehekah James
Rudder High School
rjames@tamu.edu

Darlissa-Villanueva-(1).jpg
Darlissa Villanueva 
Navasota High School
dvillanueva@tamu.edu


applytexas.org
ApplyTexas was created through a collaborative effort between the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and the colleges and universities represented on the site. The goal of the project is to offer a centralized means for both Texas and non-Texas students to apply to the many outstanding postsecondary institutions available in Texas.

fafsa.ed.gov
Completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) is the first step toward getting federal aid for college, career school, or graduate school.

sat.collegeboard.org
The SAT and SAT Subject Tests are a suite of tools designed to assess your academic readiness for college. These exams provide a path to opportunities, financial support and scholarships, in a way that's fair to all students. The SAT and SAT Subject Tests keep pace with what colleges are looking for today, measuring the skills required for success in the 21st century.

actstudent.org
The ACT is not an aptitude or an IQ test. The test questions on the ACT are directly related to what you have learned in your high school courses in English, mathematics, reading, and science. Every day you attend class you are preparing for the ACT. The harder you work in school, the more prepared you will be for the test. By taking the ACT, you make yourself visible to colleges and scholarship agencies, so it's another way to help you get ready for life after high school.


Contact Us

Are you interested in learning more about Advise TX? Would you like to become an Advise TX adviser? Do you want to support Advise TX by providing a donation to the program? If you answered yes to any of the questions above, submit the form and an Advise TX representative will contact you soon.

Enter security code:
 Security code

AdviseTX Year in Review

Americorps and Project 88 logos

 

 

We advise because...