ADVISE TX

All across Texas, a growing number of high school students lack adequate access to information about going to college. Many of them don't believe they can succeed in college or have never considered college a possibility. Without exposure, information, and encouragement, many students never pursue college at all.

Advise TX is bridging this gap. We place exceptional recent college graduates from all fields of study on high school campuses as near-peer college advisers to lead low-income and first-generation students to college.
 

Advise TX on Instagram   Advise TX Facebook page   Advise TX Twitter

AdviseTX Advising Corps Video

College Advising Corps (CAC) could well be likened to the "Teach for America" of college advising. In Texas, five partner institutions recruit highly talented recent graduates, provide them with six weeks of intensive training, and provide supervision and professional development for college advisers throughout the year.

Advisers are then placed in Texas high schools with a high proportion of historically underserved—students. These highly trained, near-peer advisers work full time and have the singular mission of building a college-going culture and helping high school students find the best fit college for their career aspirations and academic preparation. This includes assistance with ACT, SAT and college application fee waivers, college exploration, college application, FAFSA completion and submission, and--when college acceptance letters arrive—helping students understand the different financial aid packages they are offered.

CAC and Advise TX
CAC program was founded in 2006 and now has 23 partner institutions in over 14 states. Texas launched with a pilot of 15 advisers in 2010 and scaled the next year to 120. In 2011-2012 Texas Advisers served in 120 schools, in 60 Districts, serving 228,979 students, including 49,308 seniors. Of these, 18% were African American, 72% Hispanic, 8% White, and 2% Other ethnicity. Currently, Advisers are serving in 125 schools with a combined total student population of over 234,000.

"Best Fit" Advising
Advisers are not recruiters for their alma mater and employer. Their mission is to help high school students enroll in the post-secondary option that is the best fit—where they will be most likely to succeed and persist to degree or meaningful credential—be it a four-year university, two-year college, or technical school.

During their training, advisers learn about colleges and universities across the state, as well as certificate programs and associates degrees available in the geographic regions where they will serve. They visit community colleges in their area soon after assignment to their school. Advisers encourage students to apply to three or more institutions so they still have multiple options if their first choice does not accept them or offers a financial assistance package that is insufficient to make that institution a viable option.


Dallas/Forth Worth 

thumbnail_Aaron-Lemons_Duncanville-HS.jpg
Aaron Lemons
Duncanville High School
alemons@exchange.tamu.edu

thumbnail_Lisley-Canales_North-Mesquite-HS.jpg
Lisley Canales
North Mesquite High School
lcanales@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Jordan-Kuneyl_Duncanville-HS.jpg
Jordan Kuneyl
Duncanville High School
jkuneyl@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Heather-Lacey_Horn-HS.jpg
Heather Lacey
Horn High School
hlacey@tamu.edu

tumbnail_Domingo-Monjaras_South-Garland-HS.jpg
Domingo Monjaras-Salazar
South Garland High School
dmonjaras@exchange.tamu.edu

thumbnail_Edgar-Gonzalez_Mesquite-HS.jpg
Edgar Gonzalez
Mesquite High School
egonzalez@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Joanna-Palacios_Grand-Prairie-HS.jpg
Joanna Palacios
Grand Prairie High School
jpalacios@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Samantha-Ynclan_West-Mesquite-HS.jpg
Samantha Ynclan
West Mesquite High School
synclan@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Amanda-Coronado_Dubiski-HS.jpg
Amanda Coronado
Dubiski High School
amcoronado@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Jobrina-Perez_Richardson-HS.jpg
Jobrina Perez
Richardson High School
jperez@tamu.edu

thumbnail_editedgroupshot-(1-of-1).jpg
Ana Gonzalez
South Grand Prairie High School
atgonzalez@tamu.edu

 
 

Houston

thumbnail_Chesley-Rudasill_Aldine-HS.jpg
Chesley Rudasill
Aldine High School
crudasill@tamu.edu 

thumbnail_Christopher-Henson_Cypress-Springs-HS.jpg
Christopher Henson
Cypress Springs High School
chenson@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Kitzia-Soto_Eisenhower-HS.jpg
Kitzia Soto
Eisenhower High School
kitziasoto@exchange.tamu.edu

thumbnail_Rodrick-Hawkins_Sterling-HS.jpg
Rodrick Hawkins
Sterling High School
rhawkins@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Katia-Bouza_MacArthur-HS.jpg
Katia Bouza
MacArthur High School
kbouza@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Lauren-Anderson_Wesbury-HS.jpg
Lauren Anderson
Westbury High School
landerson@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Gabrielle-Harrison_Nimitz-HS.jpg
Gabrielle Harrison
Nimitz High School
gcharrison@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Jillian-Mueller_Waltrip-HS.jpg
Jillian Mueller
Waltrip High School
j.mueller@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Keviontae-Martin_Benjamin-Davis-HS.jpg
Keviontae Martin
Benjamin Davis High School
kjmartin@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Thomas-Langford_Morton-Ranch-HS.jpg
Thomas Langford
Morton Ranch High School
tlangford@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Stephanie-Escobar_Alief-Taylor-HS.jpg
Stephanie Escobar
Alief Taylor High School
sescobar@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Zachary-Lawrence_Mayde-Creek-HS.jpg
Zachary Lawrence
Mayde Creek High School
zlawrence@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Kenneth-Grant_Alief-Elsik-HS.jpg
Kenneth Grant
Alief Elsik High School
kgrantjr@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Kinsey-Blackburn_BF-Terry-HS.jpg
Kinsey Blackburn
BF Terry High School
kblackburn@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Kelly-Robles_Alief-Hastings-HS.jpg
Kelly Robles
Alief Hastings High School
krobles@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Brenda-Vazquez_Pasadena-HS.jpg
Brenda Vazquez
Pasadena High School
bvazquez@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Rosemary-Miller_KIPP-Generations-HS.jpg
Rosemary Miller
KIPP Generations High School
r_miller@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Valerie-Baez_Pasadena-Memorial-HS.jpg
Valerie Baez
Pasadena Memorial High School
vbaez@tamu.edu


DanThi Vo
KIPP Northeast High School
dvo@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Stephanie-Hinojosa_South-Houston-HS.jpg
Stephanie Hinojosa
South Houston High School
shinojosa@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Daniela-Becerra_KIPP-Sunnyside-HS.jpg
Daniela Becerra
KIPP Sunnyside High School
dbecerra@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Mariana-Garcia_Sam-Rayburn-HS.jpg
Mariana Garcia
Sam Rayburn High School
m.garcia@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Kalena-Thwaits_Klein-Forest-HS.jpg
Kalena Thwaits
Klein Forest High School
kthwaits@tamu.edu

 
 






















































































































































































Rio Grande Valley

thumbnail_Weston-Simmons_Hanna-HS.jpg
Weston Simmons
Hanna High School
wsimmons@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Marco-Mejia_Veterans-Memorial-HS.jpg
Marco Mejia
Veterans High School
mmejia@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Kelsey-Sullivan_Pace-HS.jpg
Kelsey Sullivan
Pace High School
klsullivan@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Alexis-Pemelton_Harlingen-HS-South.jpg
Alexis Pemelton
Harlingen High School South
a.pemelton@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Iraida-Garcia_Rivera-HS.jpg
Iraida Garcia
Rivera High School
igarcia@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Natalie-Hernandez_Memorial-HS.jpg
Natalie Hernandez
Memorial High School
n.hernandez@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Pamela-Moncayo_Porter-HS.jpg
Pamela Moncayo
Porter High School
pmoncayo@tamu.edu

Darlissa-Villanueva_Kennedy-HS-jpthumbnail_g.jpg
Darlissa Villanueva
Kennedy High School
dvillanueva@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Viviana-Gloria_Lopez-HS.jpg
Viviana Gloria Novas
Lopez High School
vgloria@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Marissa-Gomez-Garza_Somerset-HS.jpg
Marissa Gomez-Garza
Somerset High School
m.garza@tamu.edu

 



Bryan/College Station

thumbnail_Gianna-Gibson_Bryan-HS.jpg
Gianna Gibson
Bryan  High School
g_gibson@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Sam-Havens_Brenham-HS.jpg
Sam Havens
Brenham High School
s.havens@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Hannah-Karnes_Rudder-HS.jpg
Hannah Karnes
Rudder High School
hkarnes@tamu.edu

thumbnail_Chon-Brooks_Navasota-HS.jpg
Chon Brooks
Navasota High School
cubrooks@tamu.edu

 

applytexas.org
ApplyTexas was created through a collaborative effort between the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and the colleges and universities represented on the site. The goal of the project is to offer a centralized means for both Texas and non-Texas students to apply to the many outstanding postsecondary institutions available in Texas.

fafsa.ed.gov
Completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) is the first step toward getting federal aid for college, career school, or graduate school.

sat.collegeboard.org
The SAT and SAT Subject Tests are a suite of tools designed to assess your academic readiness for college. These exams provide a path to opportunities, financial support and scholarships, in a way that's fair to all students. The SAT and SAT Subject Tests keep pace with what colleges are looking for today, measuring the skills required for success in the 21st century.

actstudent.org
The ACT is not an aptitude or an IQ test. The test questions on the ACT are directly related to what you have learned in your high school courses in English, mathematics, reading, and science. Every day you attend class you are preparing for the ACT. The harder you work in school, the more prepared you will be for the test. By taking the ACT, you make yourself visible to colleges and scholarship agencies, so it's another way to help you get ready for life after high school.


Contact Us

Are you interested in learning more about Advise TX? Would you like to become an Advise TX adviser? Do you want to support Advise TX by providing a donation to the program? If you answered yes to any of the questions above, submit the form and an Advise TX representative will contact you soon.

Enter security code:
 Security code


AdviseTX Year in Review

Americorps and Project 88 logos

 

 

We advise because...